Wining and Dining Wednesday: 2/1/2017

I still need to post something for Tuesday. However, I found some inspiration to write about cocktail recipes while I was looking for more serious writing topics. Don’t ask how the two overlapped…it’s not important. The important things: read this post and then pour yourself one of these delicious cocktails and imbibe.

Summer Strawberry Splash

cocktail-919074_960_720.jpg
Sweet, refreshing and delicious

What You’ll Need for One Drink:

Add the following to a shaker:

  • 2 ounces of vodka
  • 8-10 mint leaves
  • 1/2 a lime
  • 1/2 oz of simple syrup
  • 2-3 strawberries

Pour the contents of the mixer into a Collins glass and add 2.5 ounces of club soda. If desired, garnish with a lime and strawberry. This is a fantastically refreshing drink in the hotter summer days. But, I love strawberries so I’m inclined to drink this all year.

Cuba Libre

cuba-libre-833890_960_720.jpg
Infographics are so helpful

Conveniently this awesome graphic above (not copyrighted!) displays exactly what we need for this drink. In reality, this is simply a rum and coke with a lime wedge (mint leaf for extra fanciness). The Wikipedia entry on the Cuba Libre is actually pretty interesting. The Cuba Libre is apparently the world’s second most popular drink and is rooted in independence. Free Cuba!

The Saltydog

1506-cocktail-pi-famosi-salty-dog-cocktail-con-sale-pompelmo-e-vodka-old-fashioned-ricetta-top.jpg
salty veteran of the cocktail scene

What You’ll Need for One Drink:

  • 1.5 oz of vodka (or gin)
  • 3 oz of grapefruit juice
  • salted rim

Fun fact: a greyhound is the sister drink of the Salty Dog. The only difference between the two is the salt on the rim. Honestly, I think I like the name “Salty Dog” more than I do the actual drink. My friends (many of them Marines – I went to military school and ROTC for a little) always refer to older vets as Salty Dogs. The term has pretty much gone on to describe any older guy with some sort of chip-on-his-shoulder attitude (especially in sports). Interestingly, the term originates from the nautical world.

The Thomas Jefferson Cocktail

images (1).jpeg
Let’s be honest, the highest duty is the Pursuit of Happiness. 

What You’ll Need for One Drink:

  • 1 ounce vodka
  • 1 ounce lemon juice
  • Dash of Angostura Bitters
  • Splash of port
  • Sparkling Wine
  • Lemon wedge

Caipirinha

caipirinha-517253_960_720.jpg
No, I cannot pronounce this drink.

What You’ll Need for One Drink:

  • 2 limes (cut into small wedges then muddle)
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar
  • 2 oz of cachaca (you can use vodka)
  • crushed ice

My dad’s roommate is from Brazil. They met when my dad lived in Brazil for 5 years back-in-the-day. As is true with most of the Brazilians I know, this guy is fun and the life of every party. He’s also always willing to make one of these delicious Brazilian mojitos. Maybe that’s why he’s so fun and lively? Either way, I highly recommend you try one of the fantastic and refreshing drinks. Also, check out the Wikipedia entry on this drink. Pretty good read.

Now that I’ve finished up this post I’m realizing that all of these are now themed: refreshing. I think my brain is trying to tell me I’m ready for Spring and Summer. Or maybe it’s because I’m sitting here with a blanket and hot laptop on my lap. I’m not sure, but drinking a double IPA doesn’t really help. Oh well – DRINK UP!

 

One thought on “Wining and Dining Wednesday: 2/1/2017

Leave a Reply

